This parameter maps how Samba debug messages are logged onto the system syslog logging levels.
Samba debug level zero maps onto syslog LOG_ERR, debug level one maps onto
LOG_WARNING, debug level two maps onto LOG_NOTICE,
debug level three maps onto LOG_INFO. All higher levels are mapped to LOG_DEBUG.

This parameter sets the threshold for sending messages to syslog. Only messages with debug
level less than this value will be sent to syslog. There still will be some
logging to log.[sn]mbd even if syslog only is enabled.

The parameter should be used
instead. When is set, it
overrides the parameter.

Supported on: At least Microsoft Windows 7 or Windows Server 2008 family

Registry PathSoftware\Policies\Samba\smb_conf\syslog
Value Namesyslog
Default Value1
Min Value
Max Value


Administrative Templates (Computers)