Prevent the computer from joining a homegroup

By default, users can add their computer to a homegroup on a home network.

If you enable this policy setting, a user on this computer will not be able to add this computer to a homegroup. This setting does not affect other network sharing features.

If you disable or do not configure this policy setting, a user can add this computer to a homegroup. However, data on a domain-joined computer is not shared with the homegroup.

This policy setting is not configured by default.

You must restart the computer for this policy setting to take effect.

Supported on: At least Windows 7

Registry HiveHKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE
Registry PathSoftware\Policies\Microsoft\Windows\HomeGroup
Value NameDisableHomeGroup
Value TypeREG_DWORD
Enabled Value1
Disabled Value0

sharing.admx

Administrative Templates (Computers)

Administrative Templates (Users)