Connection types allowed for updates

The types of connections that are allowed to use for OS updates. OS updates potentially put heavy strain on the connection due to their size and may incur additional cost. Therefore, they are by default not enabled for connection types that are considered expensive (currently only "cellular").

The recognized connection type identifiers are "ethernet", "wifi", and "cellular".

Example value:


Supported on: At least Microsoft Windows 7 or Windows Server 2008 family

Connection types allowed for updates

Registry PathSoftware\Policies\Google\ChromeOS\DeviceUpdateAllowedConnectionTypes
Value Name{number}
Value TypeREG_SZ
Default Value


Administrative Templates (Computers)

Administrative Templates (Users)